The minimum driving age in Utah is 16 years old. All drivers
must have a valid driver's license. Visitors from other
states or countries may drive in Utah as long as they
have a current driver's license and are at least 16 .
On most highways the speed limit is 55 miles per hour,
particularly in urban areas. Speed limits increase to
65 or 75 on Interstate highways, and 65 miles per hour
on most state highways. These increased speeds are allowed
only where posted. Transition zones from one speed limit
to another are indicated with pavement markings and additional
Right on a Red Light.
turns are allowed on a red light after the vehicle has
come to a complete stop, except where signs prohibit.
Use and Seat Belt Laws.
The driver of a car, front seat passenger, and all children
under 10 years old, regardless of their position in the
car, are required by Utah law to use seat belts. Children
under the age of two are required to be in federally approved
safety seat. Helmet use is mandatory for motorcyclists
and passengers under the age of 18.
more information contact the Utah Department of Motor
Vehicles, 801-965-4518 or the Utah Highway Patrol, 801-297-7780